Tuesday, 17 March 2015

Gotham Season One: Rogues Gallery/What the Little Bird Told Him

"You can assign me to this nuthouse but you can't break my spirit!"
Rogues Gallery: Gordon's reassignment to Arkham Asylum gets off to a bad start when an imate is murdered so he decides to investigate it. Meanwhile Selina and Ivy seek refuge in Gordon's apartment and Cobblepot, Now officially The Penguin, tries to gains more power.

What the Little Bird Told Him: Gordon tries to get his old job back by attempting the recapture Jack Gruber AKA The Electrocutioner (Christopher Heyerdahl) meanwhile Fish makes for move against Falcone but it may not be as easy as she thought it would be.

Finally Gotham is back and it felt like it took ages! Thought I'd review these two episodes together since they where aired together as a feature length episode in the UK and they are a two parter anyway. However I am quite busy this week so I will only be able to quickly do this review in bullet points listing the good and bad moments.

You should have accepted his offer Butch
Good

Arkham Asylum: In the comics the Asylum is like a character itself and they did a really good job of  adapting it in live action. I liked the whole hopeless atmosphere they gave it and the run down and gritty look from the undermanned staff to the fact it still looks barely built. Gordon was also great as a guard there and that he never gave up and I liked the character Dr Leslie (Morena Baccarin) who I think will be a way better love interest than Barbara who they have completely ruined.

The Electrocutioner: I don't know too much about this villain besides from the Arkham Origins games but I liked him in this because it was a really creepy portrayal and it was an interesting take that there are two of them in this episode. Glad he is still alive for another day and I liked the electricity effects and it was something different for Gordon and Bullock to face.

Some good humour: Penguin and Engma continue to provide some nice comedic moments, I like that they can do that but are not classed as just comic relief characters. We also got it from Selina and Ivy when they where breaking into Gordon's apartment and I really like those two young actresses so it was great they had some scenes in these two episodes.

Strong Butch subplot: It surprised me that Fish's right hand man had a decent story and dilemma to deal with, I knew he wasn't just a background character but I didn't know he would get a really good subplot.

Strong Falcone subplot: Another great subplot was with the Don himself and it was interesting seeing him struggling with the idea on whether or not his time in Gotham has really passed, but thanks to Zsaz and Penguin he got over that. It was quite brutal how he strangled Liza to death and I loved the look of Fish's face when she realized she lost.

Hope they bring him back in future episodes
Bad

Fish: I am always going to hate Fish and nothing is going to change that, if a lot of screen time is given to her in the episode than that just automatically puts her in my let downs and drag the score down. This two parter, especially the second episode, made me realize just how stupid her plan actually was with Liza and she never would have been a good Don anyway. I mean Falcone was right; papers don't make a Don and she really thought she would have been that simple? Unfortunately I doubt she will be killed off anytime soon so will are going to suffer her a little bit longer. Just want to mention that the actress of Fish has reported saying that she won't return for Season Two. First off I'm glad the show is renewed for season two but even more glad Fish isn't returning because she was just an awful character who was the one of the two bad things in a great show. I really hope she gets killed off (she should in the finale) but even if she doesn't at least we get a season free of this annoying cow.

Barbara: The second half of the two things that is bad with the show; a completely weak and worthless character who they have ruined. I hate every scene she is in and even though it looks like it's over I have hated this forced lesbian past/relationship they gave her since the beginning (and now they had to introduce drinking and drugs to it). What bothers me the most however is that she seems to take the morale damn high ground against Gordon all the time, like she hasn't done anything wrong and that it's all his fault.

The capture of The Electrocutioner: The character was really cool, as well as his methods and breaking into the GCPD but really, he was stopped by a cup of water that was barely half full?

You don't f**k with Falcone!
Overall this was a great two parter which sees Gordon now back on the force and ends that stupid Liza plan that wasn't going anywhere.

SCORE: 8/10

Highlights: The Electrocutiner
                   Arkham Asylum/Gordon's time there/Dr Leslie
                   Strong Butch/Falcone subplots

Let - Downs: Fish
                      Barbara
                      A cup of water saves the day


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 


http://screencapped.net/          

Friday, 13 March 2015

Arrow Season Three: The Return

DEATHSTROKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oliver and Thea run in to Slade Wilson AKA Deathstroke while on the island and in Flashbacks Oliver is forced to return to Starling City with Maseo for a mission but is not allowed to contact his family.

I am really glad that we got the return of Deathstroke this season even if it is just for one episode but it is enough just to see him in action again! Plus I really liked that we got to go back to the island again after I have been complaining that the Flashbacks haven't been as good since they left it. Slade still has a lot of hatred to Oliver and proves just how much of a badass he is with some great fight scenes with Oliver and Thea. It wasn't much of a surprise that Malcolm was behind it all so they can get back their killer instinct (this is just the kind of thing he will do) but it was cool that Slade accepted it; they weren't it any scenes together but it was a nice villain team up. I was a bit disappointed however that Slade and the island didn't get as much screen time as I would have liked, for example Oliver and Thea could have dodged more traps. Also, I'm not going to mark the score down for this because the writers obviously wanted just Slade to be the opponent, but it is a shame we didn't see Captain Boomerang who is one of my favourite DC villains. Now as for Oliver and Thea we did get some great bonding moments between those two and I liked that Thea has grown more as a character in just this episode. Her reaction to her being Sara's killer was really well done and I liked her response to Malcolm this time because she now has more reason to hate him now then last episode when it came out of no where in my opinion. Now Slade says that Thea is in the darkness despite her sparing his life which makes me wonder if she is going to end up more like Malcolm than she wants?

Yay Tommy
The second half of this episode was all about the Flashbacks which is good because we need to have these more focused episodes every now and again. I really liked the Flashbacks this episode mainly because it wasn't in Hong Kong and we got to see the dilemma Oliver had a being so close to his friends and family. It was awesome that they finally got back to the message Oliver found from his father that was mentioned in season one and that we got to see him as a killer again like he was in the beginning. I enjoyed seeing Tommy again because he is always a scene stealer and we actually got to see Diggle's brother which is something I wasn't expecting. What I didn't like though was that Moira and Walter wasn't there (they could have easily been in it) and that while Thea's drug problem and  Quentin's drinking was expected I hated that we wasted time addressing them again because I how much I didn't like their addictions. Still Quentin did have any strong performance dealing with Sara's death and I am glad the show didn't put this off until next episode. Glad that Quentin is mad at Laurel because he has every right to be because Laurel mentioning how her mother already knew just reminded me how stupid her plan was. Finally we got the introduction of Matthew Shrieve (Marc Singer) which I am interested to see more of him because in the comics he is in charge of a group called the Create Commandos which is made up of Meta - Humans who are like fictional creates e.g. Frankenstein, Wolfman etc. So how is this going to work in Arrow which has always been more grounded than The Flash?

"Using a green hoodie to hide my identity is good, red wouldn't work"
Overall it was great seeing Deathstroke again (hope he returns soon) and it was refreshing having a more focused episode that was just about one storyline and the Flashbacks. Just now remembered to mention that the Flashbacks have finally dealt with China White and we can focus of maybe another villain.

SCORE: 7/10

Highlights: DEATHSTROKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                   Thea had some great development in this
                   Flashbacks that showed Oliver's struggle and Tommy cameo

Let - Downs: Not enough Deathstroke or island
                      Moira and Walter should have been in the Flashbacks
                 Didn't like that we had to address Thea's and Quentin's addictions again even in Flashbacks


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 


http://screencapped.net/        

Thursday, 12 March 2015

Bleach Review: The Betrayer

"It's finally my time to shine"
Ichigo and Yoruichi continue to battle Yhwach who still continues to mess with Ichigo's mind and Uryu then decides to step in.

Finally we got some really fast paced action with some proper fighting between the characters. Yhwach still tries to mess with Ichigo by talking about his Quincy blood and has been controlling his actions however I didn't really like it because Aizen and Ginjo already tried a similar trick before. Sure it's different with Yhwach because we have already seen he has some control over Ichgio actions but we have still already been through this before. I did though like the jab Yhwach made at Ichigo's mother which I thought was about time because I have been waiting for Ichigo to mention that Yhwach killed her. We also got to see an Elite Sternritter in action again, Pernida Parkgjas The Compulsory, who takes Yoruichi out of the fight for now in a pretty gruesome way. Finally we get the arrival of Uryu (about freaking time!) who still seems to be siding with Yhwach for now and it looks like there might be a fight between him and Ichigo next chapter. All in all there isn't much to say about this chapter because it doesn't feel like a lot has happened, I am of course still disappointed that Chad and Ganju just seem to be standing around doing nothing and the way Mimihagi was ripped off makes me think that it's part is already over after there was so much hype about it.


Doesn't that hurt her at all?
Overall a good chapter that might have set up a fight between Uryu and Ichigo next chapter and with Uryu's and Pernida's arrival this will mean the other Elite Sternritter will fight as well. 

SCORE: 7/10

Highlights: Ichigio vs. Yhwach
                   Uryu and Pernida finally step in
                   Pernida's brutal attack on Yoruichi

Let - Downs: Really, Ichigo has been controlled by another main villain
                      Why isn't the rest of Ichigo's group helping out?
                       Mimihagi finished already?

Wednesday, 11 March 2015

The Flash Season One: Fallout

Finally get to see him in costume!
With Ronnie and Stein separated Team Flash believes that everything is all right now however they are in jeopardy once again when General Eiling targets Firestorm. Meanwhile Mason tells Iris that something is going on at S.T.A.R labs which leads them to investigate it and Joe tells Barry about his mother's murder.

SPOILER WARNING BELOW FOR FLASH COMICS (I don't care about holding back when referencing the comics anymore)

This Firestorm two parter was FREAKING AWESOME! Just like the three episode Brick Arc in Arrow these two episodes definitely rank as one of my favourite moments in the Arrow and Flash TV shows. First off it was really great that for the most part Ronnie and Stein where separated because we got some touching reunions between their love ones but also the realization that everything wasn't going to be fine now. It was interesting that Ronnie wanted to move away because while it is understandable it created a dilemma for Caitlin who believes she is doing good in Central City; thankfully she didn't have to make that choice but I wonder what it would have been? Their next problem was the connection that still exists between Ronnie and Stein which was really cool seeing how it got strong enough for craved words to appear on Stein's arm. Finally we got the return of Eiling which was great because he had some cool toys to take out The Flash and Firestorm but this also gave Ronnie and Stein the opportunity to perfect the Firestorm Matrix. I'm glad that we got to hear Stein's voice when Ronnie was controlling Firestorm because that is how it is supposed to be like in the comics and I enjoyed the banter between them.

That was a cool toy, I wonder if the military will keep using it or Eiling's successor?
As for everything else I liked that Joe decided to tell Barry now about the truth behind his mother's death instead of keeping it to himself and that we are learning more and more about time travel. Now Barry wanting to go back in to time to prevent his mother's death is similar to the plot of the Flashpoint comic (awesome read) however I wonder if Barry will realize he won't be The Flash if he saves his mother. Even none comic book fans can figure this out; If his mother was never murder he would never have become The Flash so Reverse Flash is right in saying his mother was destined to die that night. However I doubt Barry is really going to care about this so I am looking forward to episodes in the future where Barry creates an alternate timeline. As for the other subplot involving Iris that could have been way better because while it is interesting that she may uncover Barry's identity on her own it was barely developed this episode and felt out of place with the Firestorm plot.  Hopefully we will get more of this next episode but they should have saved this until then and gave us more of it. Finally what I wanted to mention was that we got some great comic relief between Joe and Cisco referencing Terminator and Back to the Future; those two have been great in their scenes together so far and I hope they keep it up.

"You don't want to mess with a perfect Firestorm"
Now for the major end scene at the end I just want to say first that it is a shame Eiling could be dead because I liked his character (even though I admit it was a typical army guy looking for powerful weapons) and I said when he first appeared that it would be cool if he did form a team of Meta - Humans working for him, oh well the road not taken. But at the very least we got to see Gorilla Grodd properly now and see Wells in his Reverse Flash costume. I don't know why Wells and Grodd are working together now but this is another reason to say that Wells isn't the Hunter Zolomon Reverse Flash/Professor Zoom because in the comics Grodd crippled Zolomon in the first place and Wells isn't a cripple anyway. I still think Wells is an original Reverse Flash created for the show but was heavily influenced by Hunter Zolomon because of his wheelchair and friendship with Barry. As for Grodd he is getting more epic every time he appears and I'm glad we got to see some of his mind abilities and I can't wait until he gets an entire episode as him as the villain (plus his voice was cool!).

"Not God, Grodd" Epic line!
Overall this Firestorm two parter was just so epic and I hope Firestorm isn't absent for too long.

SCORE: 9/10

Highlights: Firestorm
                   Grodd and Wells as Reverse Flash
                   Barry investigating time travel
                   Humour from Cisco and Jow

Let - Downs: Iris's subplot could have been a lot better
                      Eiling is now most likely dead and I liked his character and actor


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 



Monday, 9 March 2015

Bleach Review: The Dark Arm

"I was just one day from retirement"
Shunsui has now completely freed Aizen who tires to convince him to use his powers for the Soul Society meanwhile in the Royal Palace Yhwach tries to stop Mimihagi but Ichigo steps in.

If your wondering why I didn't review last chapter that is because I was really busy but I was incredibly disappointed in it anyway. I would have given it 10/10 for the reveal of Aizen alone but the majority of the chapter had to waste a lot of time with Urahara and the rest. As for this chapter it was a lot better because we got to see more of Aizen and Shunsui while we didn't waste several pages on Urahara's group doing absolutely nothing to advance the story (besides Ukitake) like they have been for a while. I really enjoyed the banter between Aizen and Shunsui because despite being in prison Aizen is still being his usual self, like not asking to be released and acting like he could care less if he is. It seems at the end that he will go because it is implied that he hates Yhwach even more than the Soul Reapers, which would also explain why he turned down the offer to work with him before. Two things that was really interesting was that the suit Aizen his in only contains his powers not remove them which is great because if he does fight in the future he will be at full power right away. Secondly because the fingers of that guard literally disintegrated when he got close to Aizen I'm guessing that Aizen his still a transcendent being thanks to the Hogyoku that is still in him; remember it only started to reject him at the end it didn't leave him. As for the rest of the chapter Ichigo and Yhwach have a pretty cool confrontation but it wasted time with Ichigo going on about how he protects peoples (like he always does) and Yhwach still talking about Ichigo's Quincy blood but only vaguely but hopefully we will get a proper fight next chapter.

This was really cool
This review may have seemed short but that is because I don't find much to talk about them; I mean Yhwach stabbed the Soul King quite a while ago and yet the story hasn't really progressed much at all. Plus why aren't the rest of Ichigo's group doing anything and where the hell are the Elite Sternritters?

SCORE: 7/10

Highlights: Long Live Lord Aizen!!!!!!
                   The stuff that happens with Aizen and Shunsui
                   Ichigo stopping Yhwach

Let - Downs: Ichigo and Yhwach waste time talk on stuff we already know
                      Where are the rest of Ichigo and Yhwach forces?

Friday, 6 March 2015

Arrow Season Three: Canaries

Damn she got her ass kicked
Oliver is now back however he is thrown with the changes to Team Arrow is his absence which creates conflict in the group. He even tells Laurel to stop being Black Canary however she ignores him when Vertigo returns but unfortunately gets affected by his drug. Meanwhile Chase surprises Thea and in Flashbacks Oliver and Maseo try to escape from A.R.G.U.S

Things certainly aren't the same for Oliver in his return to Starling with the main change being Laurel is determined to carry on the mantle of Black Canary. This was mainly a Laurel focused episode and a really good one at that with the involvement of Vertigo and how she confronted Sara who was an awesome character so I'm glad they brought her back in some form. I liked the fights she had with Sara and I think her taunting of Laurel was stuff the audience where already thinking off; that she was just a copy of Sara. I liked that Laurel has now faced her demons and that with the help of Felicity she has realized that she has to be her own version of Black Canary and not a copy of Sara. Quentin was also a huge factor for Laurel this episode and I thought it was about time he learned the truth and it was a damn powerful scene when he broke down with Laurel, makes me wonder what he will do now. Vertigo was also a part of Laurel's development and even though I really like this one, because he does seem a lot darker than Count Vertigo, I wished he had more scenes since he was only a means to an end for Laurel.

"Don't judge me harshly by the beating, drugs, killings and torture. I'm actually a nice guy"
As for the rest of the episode I liked that Thea handled the confession of Oliver well and that she didn't turn into a whiny brat (like she would in season 1 and 2) but that only lasted for a few minutes until she turned on Malcolm. I get why she is a bit angry but after everything she has been through with him I hated how quickly she turned against him, I just hated her damn attitude in this episode. Another thing I didn't like in her subplot was the lacklustre way the Chase character ended; he put up a decent fight but after he has kind of been hyped up for a while he is just out of it now, it feels like they have wasted a lot of time with his character. As for Team Arrow I liked the way they stood up to Oliver and arguing that they can do things on their own now because it isn't just about Oliver anymore. Roy I think has really grown as a vigilante because he was the one leading the arguments against Oliver and makes me think how he could get episodes just dedicated to him sometime. Finally the Flashbacks are a let down again (like all the Hong Kong ones mostly have been) and that is mainly because of Waller. I really like her character in the comics (old and new 52 Suicide Squad) but she just really damn bugs me in this, everything from her actress, appearance and personality and I think they haven't done her comic book version justice. They only thing good about the Flashbacks was that I like the friendship between Oliver and Maseo and them being in Starling City now should be interesting.

Do you sleep with all your victims Chase?
Overall I would have liked this episode better if it completely focused on Laurel and Vertigo instead of wasting are time with a whiny Thea. I just hope her character improves after some training on the island because so far she hasn't done anything and keeps losing in fights anyway.

SCORE: 7/10

Highlights: Laurel vs. Vertigo and her hallucinations
                   Team Arrow standing up to Oliver
                   Quentin and Thea's reactions to the confessions

Let - Downs: Thea
                      Chase was a wasted character
                      Flashbacks and Waller

EXTRA

Now I have kept up with the news of Arrow and I have heard that Thea will soon get her own costume (saw a picture of her getting fitted for a mask) and there are rumours that to make room for her a member of Team Arrow has to die and Arsenal might be the one. I hope this really doesn't happen because Arsenal is one of my favourite comic characters and I really like Roy on the show. If they have to get rid of him though I hope it is only temporary and as I have said before he loses his arm and maybe everyone will think he is dead but instead he is kidnapped, gets his robotic arm from either A.R.G.U.S or H.I.V.E and is forced to be an agent of H.I.V.E or a member of the Suicide Squad. Let me know what you think of that.

The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 


http://screencapped.net/        

Wednesday, 4 March 2015

The Flash Season One: The Nuclear Man

"Flame on.........everyone is going to think of Marvel"
Team Flash realizes that Ronnie AKA Firestorm has become out of control and decide to stop him which leads Caitlin to continue to investigate project F.I.R.E.S.T.O.R.M and Dr Martin Stein (Victor Garber). Meanwhile Joe asks for Cisco's help with Nora's murder and General Eiling returns to Central City.

Finally we got an entire episode dedicated to Firestorm which actually turned out to be the first of a two parter. I admit I thought they would have brought in another Meta - Human for The Flash to deal with as a small subplot but I am really glad they didn't and the focus was just on Firestorm. The whole story round Ronnie and Stein as part of the Firestorm Matrix has been handled really well so far, especially the tragedy surrounding the two; that it is Ronnie's body yet Stein is the one in control so they are unrecognizable to the people they love. I'm glad that the Flashbacks where about Stein (his meeting with Barry and first waking as Firestorm) so we got to learn more about him and that for the later half of the episode, thanks to several drugs, we got to see him not crazy for once. Hats off to Robbie Amell (real life cousin to Arrow!) for playing a role where he was Ronnie but also not Ronnie. Caitlin also had a strong role in this episode as well such as the awkwardness to talking to Firestorm at S.T.A.R labs, standing up to Wells when he wanted to kill Ronnie to the goodbye at the very end before Firestorm blew up. Lastly while this episode wasn't too action heavy (which doesn't really matter because of the strong material of Firestorm) the small fight between The Flash and Firestorm was pretty awesome as well as the massive explosion at the end.

Good start but I wonder if he will have the rest of his costume from the comics soon
As for the rest of the episode we got a really great team up between Cisco and Joe which I wasn't expecting because the two really haven't interacted much with each other yet. They did really work well together with some great serious and comedic moments and I liked how Cisco stood up for Wells in the end but his curiosity and wiliness to help got the better of him. Of course when they first mentioned that their was two speedsters in the vortex that killed Barry's mother I knew it must have been Reverse Flash and an older Barry because this plot has been used in a Flash comic. I do find this awesome because this proves that time travel does exist in the show and that opens lots of new possibilities; hopefully this proves Booster Gold could be in the show in the future. Also unless Cisco was covering for Wells this also proves that there really is two Reverse Flashes and while Wells does do questionable thinks he doesn't seem to be a bad guy because it is all to protect people. I also don't think he is the Hunter Zolomon Reverse Flash because he seems more like an original one for the show but I still think the second one is Eobard Thawne (Professor Zoom/Reverse Flash) who is either Eddie Thawne from the future or his descendent. Lastly while we did get some nice moments between Barry and Linda I do wish they would expand Linda's character a bit because of how important she is in the comics (Wally West) and I didn't like that we have a jealous Iris now. After choosing Eddie over Barry she really has to play the jealous game here? Plus Barry was right she did interfere when she had that talk with Linda.

So which one shall be coming back to that house?
Overall this was an awesome Firestorm episode and I am looking forward to part two where we get to see General Eiling again who I really liked last time and who is played by a great actor. He obviously must be who Rush was scared of last time because of his knowledge of Firestorm so I can't wait to see what trouble he will cause now.

SCORE: 9/10

Highlights: Strong Firestorm focused episode
                   Cisco and Joe team up
                   Time travel revealed!

Let - Downs: Linda could be fleshed out more and a jealous Iris


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 


http://screencapped.net/