Showing posts with label GLADES. Show all posts
Showing posts with label GLADES. Show all posts

Friday, 27 February 2015

Arrow Season Three: Uprising

It would have been interesting if Malcolm took over Team Arrow
With Brick becoming more powerful than ever Malcolm offers his services to Team Arrow and while Diggle, Arsenal and Black Canary consider the proposal Felicity is strongly against it. It is revealed Malcolm has more of a personal vendetta with Brick than anyone thought as Flashbacks reveal how he became the person he is today.

What an end to an awesome three part mini arc in the Arrow TV show; I have said it before and I will say it again I have immensely enjoyed these three episodes and if I did a top moments in Arrow this will be in it. This is probably my favourite of the three episodes because finally my favourite character in the show has the spotlight; Malcolm Merlyn who I have been complaining about lately is too much on the side lines. Finally he got an episode focused on him and I have to say that the writers seem to be trying to redeem his character a bit (such as sparing Brick), I don't think he will ever be a good guy but he is has never been entirely evil in my opinion. It is just as Roy and Thea said, in his own twisted way he protects people and just wants to save the city. Plus we got to see him again as the Dark Archer which is also awesome because his costume is the best and he is the best archer in the show in my opinion. What was also a nice addition was that the Flashbacks where about his past and we definitely needed this and it was good seeing his transformation from a good man to The Magician. I only wish there was more than what we got like him training more with the League because the scene with young Nyssa was just cool but I wanted to know more!

"I'm back!!!"
As for everything else it is good that Oliver is back now and though I think is entrance could have been more grand his speech to the citizens of the Glades was epic. Speaking of the Glades the showdown with Brick at the end was done really well and I enjoyed the massive brawl in the streets, also we got to see two characters again we haven't seen in a while; Sin and Ted Grant. Firstly I have always liked Sin's character and I'm glad to see her again I just wish that she didn't just pop up out of no where and they gave more explanation to where she has been. As for Ted I wanted him to be Wildcat again and he did not disappoint and it was awesome when he fought Brick; he really kicked his ass more than anyone else and I don't even mind he lost because I'm just going to chalk that up to the fact he has been retired for ages and Brick has almost superhuman strength anyway. Another character that was great this episode was Quentin, it was just so funny that he knew Roy straight away as Arsenal and how his joke about how Team Arrow choses names. Seems like he is going to realize Sara isn't the Black Canary soon because of Sin and since next episode is titled Canaries I'm guessing it's in that episode.

WILDCAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
As for Team Arrow they have been great during these three episodes; Roy has really matured in the absence of Oliver, I think Laurel becoming the Black Canary has been handled really well and Diggle is always just great. However the real let down has been Felicity because I think she just become a weak and whiny character lately. She completely ruined Oliver's homecoming and I don't get why, Oliver is basically using Malcolm to train him it is not like he is making him a member of the team. I just really miss the light hearted Felicity before who is super smart but can also cheer up the team and raise their confidence in any situation with her wit and one liners. I just hope they change her back to how she was before because right now I don't look forward to the scenes she is in since she is just a downer. Before I finish I know this episode was similar to the Dark Knight Rises but that doesn't bother me since the people behind the show have said before that Christopher Nolan's Batman has been inspiration for them and it isn't like their completely copying them.

Magic tricks work on everyone; kids or even assassins
Overall great finale to the three part episodes and I am glad that Brick is still alive to appear in future episodes. We got some great action and I actually liked the Flashbacks we got this time and I am looking forward to Oliver being in Star City once again.

SCORE: 9/10

Highlights: Epic three part arc
                   Wildcat and Sin
                   A Malcolm focused episode and Flashbacks
                   Great showdown with Brick at the end

Let - Downs: Felicity has been a constant negative in these last three episodes
                      Wanted to see Malcolm's training in the League

 
The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 


http://screencapped.net/          

Sunday, 11 January 2015

Arrow Season One: Scarifice

The epic final showdown
The episode begins with Oliver tied up by Malcolm who explains of his plan to destroy the Glades with an earthquake machine from Unidac, we then have a Flashback and Oliver, Slade and Shado have broken free of their bonds. Diggle then rescues Oliver because of a tracker in his boot and when Felicity is brought in for questioning by Quentin (having not covered her recent hacks properly) Oliver calls him as The Hood and tells him of The Undertaking; Quentin lets Felicity go and she does but not before telling him The Hood is a hero. Tommy then confronts Oliver but Oliver tells him of his father's plan but he doesn't believe him, in a Flashback Oliver, Slade and Shado have destroyed the missile launcher. Quentin then goes to his boss with what he knows but is suspended because of his contact with The Hood and Oliver confronts his mother and tells her she must finally take responsibility for the things she has done. Tommy then asks his father about Oliver's accusations but Malcolm simply confirms it; showing him the Dark Archer costume and a voice recording of his wife murdered in the Glades, believing that the Glades and everyone in it must die. Moira holds a press conference and tells everyone of The Undertaking but is arrested soon after meanwhile Tommy threatens to shoot Malcolm but can't bring himself to do it.

You might have left it a little too late Moira
Though upset with his mother's arrest Oliver decides he must stop Malcolm and Diggle and Felicity want to help as well, Oliver then calls Quentin as The Hood to get even more help. While Roy witnesses the riots in the Glades, Diggle and The Hood go to stop Malcolm but find him already gone and Tommy apologies to Oliver, we then have a Flashback and Oliver has killed Fyers. The Hood and Diggle catch up to Malcolm (now the Dark Archer) but Diggle is injured forcing The Hood to face the Dark Archer alone. Felicity and Quentin (who apologies to Laurel over the phone if he should die tonight and to stay away from the Glades) find the earthquake device and disarm it meanwhile Thea has gone to the Glades to rescue Roy and the two help out as much people as they can. The Hood then beats the Dark Archer by stabbing him through the chest with an arrow but before the Dark Archer dies he tells him of a second earthquake machine which activates and begins to destroy the eastern part of the Glades. Laurel is trapped at her office but Tommy arrives in time to save her but is crushed by rubble, The Hood also gets there. Tommy tells Oliver that he is indeed a hero and asks if his father is still alive, Oliver lies and then mourns when Tommy dies.

"In the end Oliver, I'm the hero"
What a finale, they sure held nothing back in this episode!! This was a great way to end the season because what is more like a comic book than the main villain wanting to destroy the city? There is a lot of stuff to go over but first I want to talk about the death of Tommy. I admit that it is now a damn shame that Tommy is the one to die but they handled his death so well; he died a hero while saving Laurel from a collapsing building and he finds it in him to forgive his best friend. The acting during that scene was just excellent as well especially when Oliver cries for his friend because you can just tell that even though he stopped Malcolm and saved part of the Glades, he realized that he lost at the end. Goodbye Tommy I think the series has lost one of it's best developed and likeable characters in my opinion.

"Forget getting out of here, lets all riot!!"
Next who was a real standout was Malcolm and like I said the guy is the biggest badass in the series. The final fight he had with Oliver was just so great and an awesome way to end the season. What I really liked about him in this episode was the explanation he gave on why he wants to destroy the Glades  and it kind of makes you sympathise with his character. He is not doing it because he is pure evil or a maniac he truly believes that what he is doing is the right thing; ridding Starling City of it's most poor and crime riddled area. The fight he had with Oliver and Diggle was great, from the arrow catching to Oliver stabbing himself with an arrow to beat him. In the end I guess we will have to see if Malcolm and even Tommy are really dead because in the world of comics no one stays dead.

Kick his ass Oliver!
As for the rest of the episode also got some great Flashbacks which really picked up on the excitement from last episode and showed Oliver getting his first kill with a bow. It was really intense seeing the group fight to stop the missile launcher and we got some great action and explosions. The destruction of the Glades was also done really well; I think the effects they used to show it collapsing was great in those shots where it showed it from above and the destruction on the ground during the rioting was awesome as well. Two other characters that where good where Moira for finally doing the right thing and speaking out about The Undertaking and Quentin teaming up with Felicity and having that heart to heart with Laurel over the phone.

"Its time for us to save this city"
As for the negatives (and this is really nit picking) is that again I didn't like the Roy and Thea moments because even though we got to see the cool riots them getting back together was just kind of predictable. Also I didn't like the role Laurel played in this because as I said earlier on in these reviews I don't like her character because she is just there for the sake of it most of the time. All she has done is just create conflict between Tommy and Oliver and sometimes even make the situation worse like how she ignored Quentin to be in the Glades. Honestly how damn stubborn can you be to stay in your office when you know an earthquake machine was going to destroy everything?

Great shot!
Overall this was a great finale; it was so action packed with some also fight scenes along with the cool destruction of the Glades.

SCORE: 9/10

Highlights: The Hood vs. The Dark Archer
                   The death of Tommy was handled really well
                   The destruction of the Glades
                   Flashbacks

Let - Downs: Roy and Thea subplot
                      Laurel was just in the way


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;
 
 



Wednesday, 7 January 2015

Arrow Season One: Dodger

The red hoodie isn't exactly subtle lol
The episode begins with a guard in a museum helping a criminal named The Dodger (James Callis) steal a large jewel because he has an explosive device attached to his neck. At the Arrowcave Felicity quits after a disagreement with Oliver and we get a Flashback where he is treating Slade's wounds but leaves to get the special herbs Yao Fei treated him with earlier. In the present Moira meets with a man named Frank Chen and they both agree that The Undertaking is getting out of control meanwhile Felicity re-joins the team after Oliver agrees to stop The Dodger. The Dodger later kills someone who is trying to steal from him and Team Arrow figures out how to find him; Felicity thinks Oliver should ask McKenna out so they can bug her phone which he does. In the Glades Laurel and Thea are mugged by someone who runs off with Thea's purse but they then investigate and get a suspect named Roy Harper (Colton Haynes), we then get a Flashback and Oliver encounters a badly injured man who begs for help.

Just play it smooth Diggle
McKenna and Oliver have dinner but she is soon called away because of The Dodger and Oliver follows her as The Hood however The Dodger gets away by setting off explosives. At the Arrowcave they come up with a plan to lure The Dodger at the fundraiser for the Starling City Cancer Society, later Roy is interrogated by the police but Thea decides to let him go after hearing about his mother. At the fundraiser Felicity is caught by The Dodger and attached with an explosive collar, Oliver manages to chase after him and knock him out, freeing Felicity of the collar. We get a Flashback and Oliver decides to leave the injured man because he cannot trust him and lies to Slade earlier about not encountering anyone. Diggle and Carly (his sister in law) then start a relationship and Oliver and McKenna start the possibility of one. The episode ends with Thea finding out Roy was lying abut his mom after visiting him and Moira contacting China White about putting a hit on Malcolm.

"Just take one step and BOOM!"
We keep getting more and more comic characters now with this latest one being the introduction to Roy Harper AKA Red Arrow/Arsenal. Roy was the side kick of the Green Arrow in the comics called Speedy but eventually quits and then returns as Red Arrow and then as Arsenal, he is a great character and I am glad that even though where probably going to be sticking with his origins for awhile at least he has been introduced early. I like the casting for him as well and how he is portrayed because he is like the opposite of the rich families with mostly seen so far. Also that Thea is most likely going to play a major part in his subplot is good because of course I have been going on for ages that she has no decent story and at least this is the start of one and again Laurel played a good part as well. Plus we also got more of a look at the Glades, it has been mentioned a lot but barely seen and kind of like Gotham does really represent the divide between the rich and poor.

"I like how we decided to take a walk in the worst part of Starling"
As for the Flashback even though they were not as action packed or as strong as the one in the last episode they where still good because of the situation Oliver was in. I mean that beaten guy looked and acted so genuine that it makes you think if his story is true or not and whether Oliver made the right call to leave him. If the guy really was telling the truth and Oliver finds that out somehow then I wonder if this decision is going to haunt him. I wonder if those special herbs will play more of a role soon because has lots in the present, is there a story to how he got them? Speaking of the past I like that we got some more insight into The Undertaking because Moira did say it was to help the city at first which is why Robert and Frank where involved in it. However what was really cool was Moira finally trying to break free of Malcolm and move against him; good luck to her but Malcolm just seems like the kind of person how has prepared for everything.

I know she has a bomb attached to her neck but damn does she know how to look good for the occasion
As for the rest of the episode The Dodger was actually an awesome villain and an example of how a one off villain should be. Cyrus was just uninteresting and generic but The Dodger was way cooler because of his unique explosives method, expert in hand to hand combat with a stun stick and his personality was overall just more cool and suave. I doubt we will see him again which is a bit of a shame because he could have made a good small recurring villain like China White and at least he isn't wearing some obvious white wig. Felicity was also great in this because she has become a valuable member of the team and didn't just spend the episode behind a computer screen. Lastly I didn't really care much for the romantic subplots in this because they kind of fell flat for me and it is obvious it is not going to work between Oliver and McKenna.

Play it smooth Roy
Overall this wasn't as exciting as last episode but it was going to be hard to top those awesome Flashbacks anyway however the ending was interesting because it might men Malcolm will have to be the Dark Archer again to defend himself.

SCORE: 7/10

Highlights: Colton Haynes strong introduction as Roy Harper
                   The Dodger and the team going after him was good
                   Felicity was great in her first mission with the team

Let - Downs: Flashbacks wasn't as strong as in the last episode
                      Didn't care for the romantic subplots


The great screenshots of the episodes where provided by the great site Screencapped. You can look for yourself from the link below;